Show Stories

So far this year I have been in 5 shows, but only 3 of them count for IEA points.

In the IEA, you have to have 15 points to qualify for the zone finals, and after the zone finals (if you make it through) you go to the nationals.

You get 7 points for first, 5 for second, 4 for third, 3 for fourth, 2 for fifth, and 1 for sixth.(For those who don’t know much about shows, the ribbons usually only go down to 6th place.). You have 5 shows to get your 15 points.

The cool thing about the IEA is that you don’t have to own a horse to ride. You don’t even have to lease one. The not so cool thing about it is that you have no idea who you will ride until the day of the show.

That’s right, you randomly draw a horse that you (usually) have never ridden before, then jump up and ride it. As you will see in these stories, they are NOT all good draws.

I am doing really well for my amount of experience, but I have only been riding since the end of Jan.

In my First show (not IEA) I was 2nd out of 12 in my jumping class, and in my Equitation/Under-saddle classes I was 5th-out of five. (Hardly surprising, I broke my canter BOTH TIMES!!! YIKES!)

My second show (also not IEA) was an annual show that we throw at my barn, just for the students.

In jumping I placed 3rd out of 4, and in flat I placed 3rd out of five.

In my third show (My first IEA show), I drew a big, HUGE,bay, half draft horse for my jumping class. He was one of the best draws I could have had! But then, it happened. (For those of you who have ridden before, you probably know where this is going.) I rode into the ring, enjoying my half draft horse, and JUMPED THE WRONG JUMP!!! This meant instant disqualification.

A few minutes later, I drew my next horse.(This is the one I ride in the flat.)

Now, all day long, when we read over the horse sheet, we were all saying I would take any horse except that one. Well guess who I drew! Horse number 23, the TICKING TIME BOMB!!!

I got on him, and instantly new that I had a ton of dynamite under me.

I rode into the ring, and everything was going well, until we had to transition from the walk to the trot. BANG!! He spooked at a soda can someone left on the rail! Then, when the judge called for the transition to the canter, guess what spot we were in? RIGHT NEXT TO THE SODA CAN! AGAIN he spooked, again I stayed on and brought him under control, and again the judge took away points. The judge must have liked how I handled  him, because I got 5th, but this was only the beginning of my bad luck.

In my 4th show, I drew a little white pony.(Shudder)

I got on him and did my warm up course(A course consisting of 2 jumps and usually a change of direction.),

and everything seemed fine, so I rode him into the arena. At this point, he decides that he HATES ME AND IS GOING TO GET ME OFF, no matter what it takes. We pick up a canter, jump the first jump and WHAM! He gives me a jaw jarring buck, causing me to lose a stirrup. He feels that I lost it, and will NOT let me get it back. He continues this over every jump, getting faster and faster, until all of a sudden our IEA challenge is looming ahead. I am supposed to bring this horse back to a trot over this jump! So after about 10 strides I get him into a bone jarring, extremly bouncy trot, and manage to keep it over the jump! It was a miracle!

But, of course, after the jump he acts up again, and there is only 1 jump left.(Note: after the trot jump, he bucked and I lost my stirrup again, even after I had just picked it up!!) He jumps the last jump, gives me his biggest buck yet(Making me lose my other stirrup), and takes off! Those who have been to a show before probably know that before and after your course, you do what is called a courtesy circle. I now had a horse that had taken off with me, having NO intentions to stop anytime soon, and I still had to take my courtesy circle, stop, and walk CALMLY out of the ring! So, between the bucks, I kept trying to calm down my horse and get him to stop.

After 4 circles, no stirrups, and what seemed like an eternity, instead of falling to my doom, I got him to stop and walk out.(Forget the calm part, I was just happy to be alive! LITERALLY!!!!!!)I had a standing ovation! Now, had this been a roller coaster, I would have begged to go again. Seeing as I ALMOST LOST MY LIFE,  I was glad it was a 2 day show.(That means that I didn’t have my flat until the next day.)(I have a video, but can’t post it now.)

The next day, my bad luck continued. I drew a older chestnut horse , who was EXTREMLY slow, had a bad limp, and all of his gates were the same speed.(The trainer loves him as a beginner horse, because she can literally WALK next to all of his gates.)The judge didn’t like me, and I didn’t even place.(My instructor said I rode him well though! That counts for something in my book anyways!)

I will tell you about my latest show tommarow, I have to go and watch my brothers.

See Ya!

3 thoughts on “Show Stories

  1. Abbey Tumino says:

    Hannah! I’m so glad you started this blog! =) I enjoyed reading your show experiences!
    Talk to you later, Abbey

  2. N/A says:

    Please do not talk other peoples horses(Silver and Eddie). You never know who may be reading this. It is not their fault. Please just dont do it anymore. Think about how angery you would get if someone said something about a school horse or even your own horse that you love? Im not yelling at you, just please think about what your saying, and who can see it, before you say it. Thank you.

    • crosscountrygal says:

      Yea, I realized that a couple months ago. I thought I removed all the horses names/anything mean I said about them or corrected it in a later post, but I must have missed one, so thanks for letting me know. I do see how wrong I was now, I was tired/braindead from a long show weekend when I wrote that. I didn’t mean anything by it, and if I was still at that show level I would actually want to draw them. I moved up this year and would be to big for Silver now anyways. I am sorry if I offended anyone. = )

Leave a Reply

