The Circle Of Life

So, the other day I was thinking. Thinking about the circle of life. And you know, I found a rather interesting pattern. It goes something like this:

Age: Outlook On Life:
5-6 “Man, look at those teenagers! They always have so much fun! They have the good life. I wish I was them!”
15-16 “Aww! Look at those little kids. I wish I could be that young and free again!”
17-18 “I can’t wait till I’m out of college. Then I’ll be free and I can do whatever whenever I want too. I’ll be free!”
21-24 “If only I could go back in time to when I was 17 or 18…Stop myself from __________ (Fill in the blank).”
25-30 “Look at that beautiful family! I wish I had kids to look out for.”
45-55 “They grow up so fast! I wish I could go back to when they were little 4 and 5 year olds, hanging on my neck, thinking I was a super hero.” Or “Honey, I love you, but your going on 25 now. It’s time you moved out of our basement!”
60-65 “I wish I was 20 again!”
70-80 “I can’t wait for my new parts. They’re due any time now. Oh, too wait for the day that I am eternally in the presence of my gracious God who has wiped my tears away, and forgiven me all my wrongs! What a glorious, gracious God he is, and Oh what a day that will be!”

Now are we going to live our lives like this, or be content with where God has us?

We will always want something else until we let God take the pen. He knows what to do, He’s knows what’s best for you. He knows what you need to make it through the rest of your journey. So instead of blowing full steam ahead, or trying to take control, how about you take a moment to stop and smell the roses. Be satisfied with what our wonderful creator has given us RIGHT NOW, and not yearn for what we think we want but really don’t.

So tomorrow, when you wake up, instead of wishing for something else, be content in what God has for you. Right here, right now. Because this is where you were meant to be.

Leave a Reply

