Poetry Challenge Day 29

Yes, yes, yes. I know. I didn’t post yesterday. But, for once, I do have a good reason for it. I was at the barn late last night, and had to spend an extra hour there caring for my horse. He had a rough day in the paddock, and had a couple nasty scrapes that needed a good washing. With my horse, who is a total baby, this took a good amount of time due to his wimping out at the slightest touch. Poor guy! While I wrote the day 29 poem yesterday, I got home too late to post it.

Our challenge was to briefly research a poetic form of our choice, and then write a poem according to the rules of that form. I chose the villanelle, which is a form I had researched previously for an article I wrote, but hadn’t done any real work on. If you are as much of a poetry geek as I am, you may want to look it up for yourself. It has a very interesting story.

His gentle touch that softly warms,
With its own great glimmering light,
Holds my heart, shelters me in storms.
 
This small, smoldering ember warns
Of a coming flame, blazing bright,
His gentle touch that softly warms.
 
He is the light, guiding my reforms,
His great love that I cannot fight
Holds my heart, shelters me in storms.
 
There can be nothing my heart mourns,
His lovely touch only brings delight,
His gentle touch that softly warms.
 
Though my troubles may come in swarms,
Peace comes in knowing His great might
Holds my heart, shelters me in storms.
 
In life, there are no solid norms,
But to me this thought holds not fright.
His gentle touch that softly warms,
Holds my heart, shelters me in storms.
 

-Rattler

Leave a Reply

