The Most Important Thing

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging symbol. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.”
-1 Corinthians 13:1-3

This passage really cut me to the quick today. Lately I’ve realized my bitterness towards people, bitterness that has grown in my heart through the challenges of the last years. Bitterness that has poisoned my thoughts and deeds, my intentions, and turned my vision inward rather than outward. Bitterness that, in the eyes of any unbeliever, is well deserved. But I know in my heart of hearts, the heart in which my Savior dwells, that this is not how I am called to live.

As a Christian, I am called to shine God’s reflection in everything I do. His grace, His mercy, His all-surpassing love. And I can’t glorify Him this way if I carry this bitterness in my heart. I’ve got a long way to go, but I’ve got an Amazing God to help me through it. I can do all things through Him that strengthens me, even learn to love again. As Christians, we aren’t called to be brave, we aren’t called to be martyrs, we aren’t even called to be eloquent in speech. We are called to love each other, just as He loved us.

So how about it, my friends? How will you love today?

Leave a Reply

