NaNoWriMo Day 14: Movin’ On Up

It’s been a good day! I’ve written around 3.5K, and I should be able to write even more tomorrow. I might even get caught up!

I’ve also got a quick snippet for you tonight. I’m undecided as to how I feel about the writing, but it was a fun scene to write, and I hope you enjoy it!

“What have you been up to all day, Mason?” She asks, smiling at her brother and taking a seat beside him at the table. I slide in beside them, watching the firelight play games with her eyes. I can never get enough of them. They’re enchanting… like nothing I’ve ever seen. Not even diamonds could compare.

“Oh, just scrounging around with the boys. And practicing on the firing range. I can outrun them like no one’s business, but I’m still struggling with the quick draw.” He replies, leaning back and stretching.

“It’s all in the wrist, you know. I could help you with it sometime, Mase. My dad taught me when I was hardly old enough to wrap my finger around a trigger.” He turns to look at me, his large, deep brown eyes hopeful.

“Really?” He asks with childlike surprise in his voice.

“Sure! Besides, I could use some practice with my pistol. I’ve spent too much time with those big ol’ rifles lately anyways.” I ruffle his short black hair, and he smiles. Colleen watches approvingly, her cheeks glowing warmly. I wonder if this is what it would have been like to have a family. A real family. I can hardly remember Father, and even the good times with Mom have faded.

I look at Mason again, as though examining him for the first time. He’s on the short side, and skinny. His cheekbones are more hollow than they should be, giving him a slightly sharp and bony appearance. His movements are quick, like a spooked rabbit, but precise. He never makes a motion without thinking it through first. The intelligence is keen in his eyes, in the way he watches his surroundings. Everything one could want in a messenger. And funny, too.

“That’s really kind of you, Jude. It’s so nice to see you two getting along!” Colleen says, filling in the silence that had fallen. At the same moment, the boy and I turn and look at her, then glance back at each other with a disgusted look, sticking our tongues out childishly. The house is filled with laughter, and Mason clutches his abdomen, leaning forward and squinting as the laughs escape his chest. Suddenly, he’s on the ground with a thud, his feet up in the air.

“Did he just?”

“He did!” Colleen erupts into another round of laughter, her sweet voice filling the air with a music far sweeter than any I could ever hope to pluck from my guitar. He gets up and dusts himself off, looking disgruntled at best. He glowers at her, and I can’t hold in my mirth. Colleen leans on my back, trying to pull herself together, but looses to yet another fit of giggles.

Leave a Reply

