NaNoWriMo Day 22: Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I don’t want to bore you tonight with a big long list of things I’m thankful for, because there truly is far too much to speak of. Instead, I will content myself with posting a few images after my vlog tonight. A picture says a thousand words, after all. But first, I want to take just a moment and think. Why is it that on Thanksgiving day, the depressing Facebook statuses, complaints, and various formats through which we vent, suddenly become a heap of thanks and praises? Our actual lives don’t really change, nothing about our circumstances improves. So why the sudden changes of heart? Yes, Thanksgiving is a day to focus on good food and everything we have going well. But shouldn’t that be our focus every day? Just some food for thought.

Firstly, I am eternally grateful for the astounding gift my Father God has given me in His Son, my Savior. I have been adopted into the family of God, and that itself is all I could ever need or ask for.

Second, I am grateful for the amazing family God has given me. We’ve had our fair share of fights, and we’ve certainly been through some hard times. But we are blessed to be together. (The irony of this is, I could not find a picture of my whole family together. I had to settle for one of me and my middle little brother, David, at his elementary school graduation.)

Third, I am exceedingly grateful for my horse. He has been a bright light in my life the past 2 1/2 years, and I hope to spend many more at his magnificent side. Who needs a prince when you can have a gorgeous steed?

The amazing friends and teachers that have been my supporters through the craziest years of my life so far. I would not have made it this far without every single one of you, and I praise God every time I think of you!

Finally, I’m thankful for the amazing and fun times that I’ve had. Life is hard, it was never supposed to be easy. But fellowship with friends and the good times God allows make it all worth while. The last few years have been incredibly difficult, but in the midst of it all I’ve still had the time to enjoy myself on rare occasion, and those times will live on in my heart and mind forever.

Leave a Reply

