It’s Coming

https://i0.wp.com/www.spanishprograms.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/level_3_announce.jpg

 Now, I’ve been talking about my “big news” for some time now. Everything is finally falling into place, and I will be announcing it tomorrow – that is, assuming I can avoid any further delays.

This news is something I didn’t think would ever happen. It is absolutely the biggest thing I’ve ever done. But along with it, there are many risks and much fear involved. I strongly feel that it is something God has been leading me up to for the last few years, but I still struggle with that old monster called “the fear of man.” If I know one thing for certain, it’s that I’ll be leaning heavily on God and His wonderful grace, mercy, and peace that surpasses all understanding over the next year or so.

In this exciting and fear-filled time, as is my habit, I’ve been looking to scripture for comfort. And, as always, I’ve found it in abundance. The story of Abraham, called to leave everything he knew, everything he was comfortable with, and follow God wherever He may lead. The story of Moses, told to face his greatest fears, get his act together, and trust God’s plan for him. That of Job, who lost everything and was reminded that God is always God, and there is none like him. And of course, that of the Apostle Paul, whose entire life was flipped upside down in a flash of heaven’s light. The uniting factor in all of these stories is God. His call, His purpose, His strength, His power, His grace, His love, His peace. As the psalmist said, “When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears, and delivers them out of all their troubles. The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.” (Psalm 34:17-18)

God’s plan for us is greater than we can imagine. We have to trust in that, no matter how trying, fearful, or hard the times get. Everything happens for a reason. My news is exciting, and shocking to me. It is good news, and something I never thought would happen. Something I never thought I would pursue. But it’s also frightening. And I must learn from it, and lean on the scriptures. Below I have posted a few more verses that have been on my heart and mind the last few weeks, which I continue to meditate on. I hope they encourage you as much as they do myself.

 

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

 

“Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God. And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.  And those whom he predestined he also called, and those whom he called he also justified, and those whom he justified he also glorified.” (Romans 8:26-30)

 

“Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.” (Romans 5:2-5)

Leave a Reply

